Marathons in Australia

The marathon is seen as the ultimate long distance run, and originated at the first modern Olympics in Athens, Greece in 1896, becoming standardised at 42.195km in 1921. The following is a list of marathons around Australia.

Use the search function to filter events by keywords, location, date range and event type.

Events 1 to 83 of 83

EventDateLocationTypes

Bravehearts 777 Marathon: Perth

Monday, 26 June 2017Gould Park, Perth, WARun/Walk

Bravehearts 777 Marathon: Adelaide

Tuesday, 27 June 2017Jimmy Melrose Park, Glenelg, Adelaide, SARun/Walk

Bravehearts 777 Marathon: Canberra

Wednesday, 28 June 2017Commonwealth Place, Canberra, ACTRun/Walk

Bravehearts 777 Marathon: Melbourne

Thursday, 29 June 2017Bay Trail, St Kilda, Melbourne, VICRun/Walk

Bravehearts 777 Marathon: Hobart

Friday, 30 June 2017Hobart Cenotaph, Hobart, TASRun/Walk

Bravehearts 777 Marathon: Kingscliff

Saturday, 1 July 2017Salt SLSC, Kingscliff, NSWRun/Walk

Geraldton Runfest

Saturday, 1 July to Sunday, 2 July 2017Geraldton Yacht Club, Geraldton, WARun/Walk

Gold Coast Airport Marathon

Saturday, 1 July to Sunday, 2 July 2017Southport, QLDRun/Walk

3 Marathons in 3 Days - Day 1 / Kauri Half Marathon

Friday, 7 July 2017Kuranda, QLDRun/Walk

3 Marathons in 3 Days - Day 2

Saturday, 8 July 2017Cedar Park Rainforest Resort, near Kuranda/Cairns, QLDRun/Walk

HOOK For Bravehearts in July

Saturday, 8 July 2017Myuna Bay Rest Area, Lake Macquarie, NSWRun/Walk

3 Marathons in 3 Days - Day 3 / Cairns Marathon

Sunday, 9 July 2017Cedar Park Rainforest Resort, near Kuranda/Cairns, QLDRun/Walk

Airlie Beach Running Festival

Sunday, 16 July 2017Broadwater Ave Carpark, Airlie Beach, QLDRun/Walk

Broome International Airport Marathon

Sunday, 16 July 2017Surf Club, Cable Beach, Broome, WARun/Walk

Moreton Mongrel

Sunday, 16 July 2017Tangalooma, Moreton Island, QLDRun/Walk

Sri Chinmoy Sydney Series

Sunday, 16 July 2017Peter Depena Reserve, Dolls Point, Sydney, NSWRun/Walk

Winery Running Festival

Sunday, 16 July 2017Vintage Golf Resort & Spa, Rothbury, Hunter Valley, NSWRun/Walk

Coastal 5 Marathon Series

Monday, 17 July to Friday, 21 July 2017Semaphore, Adelaide, SARun/Walk

You Yangs Trail Running Festival

Saturday, 22 July to Sunday, 23 July 2017You Yangs Regional Park, Melbourne, VICRun/Walk

Goldfields Pipeline Marathon

Sunday, 23 July 2017Boulder Golf Course, Kalgoorlie, WARun/Walk

Resolution Run Series

Sunday, 23 July 2017Lake Tuggeranong, Greenway, Canberra, ACTRun/Walk

Sri Chinmoy Princes Park Winter Running Festival

Sunday, 23 July 2017Princes Park, Melbourne, VICRun/Walk

Australian Outback Marathon

Saturday, 29 July 2017Yulara, NTRun/Walk

Rainbow Beach Trail Running Festival

Sunday, 30 July 2017Phil Rodgers Park, Rainbow Beach, QLDRun/Walk

Lamington Eco Challenge

Saturday, 5 August to Sunday, 6 August 2017O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Lamington National Park, QLDRun/Walk

Brisbane Marathon Festival

Sunday, 6 August 2017Brisbane, QLDRun/Walk

Centennial Park Ultra

Sunday, 6 August 2017Centennial Park, Sydney, NSWCancelled Run/Walk

Townsville Running Festival

Sunday, 6 August 2017Jezzine Barracks, Townsville, QLDRun/Walk

Yorke Coastal West 100

Sunday, 6 August 2017Port Victoria, Yorke Peninsula, SARun/Walk

Athletics Victoria XCR Anglesea Ekiden Relay

Saturday, 12 August 201735 Cameron Rd, Anglesea, VICRun/Walk

HOOK Double in August

Saturday, 12 August to Sunday, 13 August 2017Myuna Bay Rest Area, Lake Macquarie, NSWRun/Walk

Trail Marathon Running Weekend

Saturday, 19 August to Sunday, 20 August 2017Wagga Beach, Wagga Wagga, NSWBike Run/Walk

Adelaide Marathon Festival

Sunday, 20 August 2017Adelaide Oval, King William Street, Adelaide, SARun/Walk

Alice Springs Running Festival

Sunday, 20 August 2017Lasseters, Alice Springs, NTRun/Walk

Mudgee Running Festival

Sunday, 20 August 2017Lawson Park, Mudgee, NSWRun/Walk

Sunshine Coast Marathon

Sunday, 20 August 2017Alexandra Headlands Surf Club, Mooloolaba, QLD

Kangaroo Island Marathon

Saturday, 26 August 2017Flinder's Chase Visitors Centre, Kangaroo Island, SARun/Walk

Cape Pallarenda Trail Run

Sunday, 27 August 2017Cape Pallarenda, Townsville, QLDRun/Walk

City to Surf: Perth

Sunday, 27 August 2017Perth, WARun/Walk

Dubbo Stampede Running Festival

Sunday, 27 August 2017Taronga Western Plains Zoo, Dubbo, NSWRun/Walk

Shepparton Running Festival

Sunday, 27 August 2017Victoria Park Lake, Shepparton, VICRun/Walk

The Tan Ultra

Sunday, 27 August 2017Pillars of Wisdom, Tan Track, Melbourne, VICRun/Walk

Flinders Island Running Festival

Friday, 1 September to Sunday, 3 September 2017Flinders Island, TASRun/Walk

Bigfoot Snow Trail

Saturday, 2 September 2017Falls Creek Resort, Falls Creek, VICRun/Walk

Ross Marathons

Sunday, 3 September 2017Ross, TASRun/Walk

White Balloon Day Coastal Marathon

Friday, 8 September 2017Semaphore, Adelaide, SARun/Walk

Maramoo

Saturday, 9 September 2017Yallingup Siding, WARun/Walk

Logan Running Festival

Sunday, 17 September 2017Berrinba Wetlands, Crestmead, QLDRun/Walk

Sydney Running Festival

Sunday, 17 September 2017Bradfield Park, Milson's Point, Sydney, NSWRun/Walk

September HOOK

Saturday, 23 September 2017Myuna Bay Rest Area, Lake Macquarie, NSWRun/Walk

Surf Coast Hell Run

Saturday, 23 September 2017Sheoaks Picnic Ground, Allanvale Rd Lorne, VICRun/Walk

Beach to Brother

Sunday, 24 September 2017Port Macquarie, NSWRun/Walk

Brave Hart's Mill Coastal Run

Sunday, 24 September 2017Hart's Mill, Port Adelaide, South AustraliaRun/Walk

Western Sydney Marathon

Saturday, 30 September 2017International Regatta Centre, Sydney, NSWRun/Walk

Busselton Spring Running Festival

Sunday, 8 October 2017Milne Street Oval, Busselton, WARun/Walk

The Compass Club Northern Edition

Sunday, 8 October 2017Bamaga, QLDRun/Walk

Toowoomba Marathon

Sunday, 8 October 2017University of Southern Queensland, Toowoomba, QLDRun/Walk

Western Coastal Marathon

Sunday, 8 October 2017Adelaide Coastline, SARun/Walk

Medibank Melbourne Marathon Festival

Sunday, 15 October 2017Batman Ave, Melbourne, VICRun/Walk

Coastal 7in7 Series

Monday, 16 October to Sunday, 22 October 2017Semaphore, Adelaide, SARun/Walk

Runaway Barossa Marathon

Saturday, 21 October 2017Peter Lehmann Wines, Tanunda, SARun/Walk

Great Barrier Reef Marathon Festival

Sunday, 22 October 2017Port Douglas, QLDRun/Walk

Ned Kelly Chase

Sunday, 22 October 2017Apex Park, Wangaratta, VICBike Run/Walk

Rottnest Running Festival

Sunday, 22 October 2017Heritage Common, Rottnest Island, WARun/Walk

Long Course Weekend

Friday, 27 October to Sunday, 29 October 2017Nowra, Jervis Bay, NSWBike Run/Walk Swim

Halloween HOOK For Bravehearts

Saturday, 28 October 2017Myuna Bay Rest Area, Lake Macquarie, NSWRun/Walk

Halloween Howler

Saturday, 28 October 2017You Yangs Regional Park, VICRun/Walk

Carcoar Cup Running Festival

Sunday, 5 November 2017Carcoar, NSWRun/Walk

Port of Portland 3-Bays Marathon

Sunday, 5 November 2017Portland, VICRun/Walk

Marysville Marathon Festival

Sunday, 12 November 2017Gallipoli Park, Marysville, VICRun/Walk

Resolution Run Series

Sunday, 12 November 2017Lake Tuggeranong, Greenway, Canberra, ACTRun/Walk

Seaside Coastal Marathon

Sunday, 19 November 2017Semaphore, Adelaide, SARun/Walk

Run for the Young

Sunday, 26 November 2017Lillydale Lake, Lillydale, VICRun/Walk

Port Loop Coastal

Saturday, 16 December to Sunday, 17 December 2017Hart's Mill, Port Adelaide, SARun/Walk

Coastal Brave Series

Thursday, 28 December to Sunday, 31 December 2017Semaphore, Adelaide, SARun/Walk

Cadbury Marathon

Sunday, 14 January 2018Cadbury Chocolate Factory, Claremont, TASRun/Walk

Baw Baw Trail Run Festival

Saturday, 3 March to Sunday, 4 March 2018Baw Baw Alpine Resort, VICRun/Walk

The Six Foot Track Marathon

Saturday, 10 March 2018Explorers Tree, Katoomba, NSWRun/Walk

Tassie Trail Fest

Saturday, 10 March to Monday, 12 March 2018Derby, TASRun/Walk

CBR 48 Hour

Friday, 16 March to Saturday, 17 March 2018AIS Track & Field Facility, Bruce, Canberra, ACTRun/Walk

Canberra Walking Festival

Friday, 6 April to Sunday, 8 April 2018Canberra, ACTRun/Walk

Hamilton Island Hilly Marathon

Sunday, 6 May 2018Hamilton Island, QLDRun/Walk

Great Ocean Road Running Festival

Saturday, 19 May to Sunday, 20 May 2018Apollo Bay, VICRun/Walk

Events 1 to 83 of 83